Positive Thinking / Uncategorized

I Pledge To Be Real

A few months ago I wrote a blog post about how I am learning to love my body after becoming a mom  (i’m a brummie; it is mom not mum!) and years of yo-yo dieting.

I was lucky enough to hear all about how Dove is supporting the Pledge To Be Real campaign at Blogfest16 and it really got me thinking again; I know all the things I have to do to be fit and healthy but does that necessarily mean I will be happy? Does it mean I will be me?

  • Maybe
  • Perhaps thinner and a little more happier
  • Perhaps not

I had these grand plans of getting to the gym and becoming fit and healthy again and then I fell and smashed my knee (at the zoo no less!)

imag2391

I love how excercise clears my mind

Anyways, knee aside (and the unfortunate injury which has resulted in no physical activity for the past 10 weeks) I am still nowhere near the point of self acceptance. I see campaigns such as Pledge To Be Real and I have so much admiration to those women who are comfortable in their own skin; as right now I must admit I am struggling.

In saying that, if ever I needed someone to assure me that I am awesome just the way I am, my partner of 8 years has just popped the proverbial question (eeepppp!)

  • He loves me unconditionally.
  • At my grumpiest
  • At my most uncooperative
  • At my worst
  • At my best
  • And most certainly when I come home with cake

I want to be a positive role model for my MiniMonkey and I know for sure he doesn’t care what I look like, so now it is time to embrace myself, make positive life choices because I want to, not because some magazine article is telling me I should (and as a side note I am in love with Selena Gomez after her AMA speech)

Reflecting on past life choices and understanding when I was at my most comfortable in my skin it hasbeen when I’m surrounded by positive influences which is then backed up by my own positive mindset.

  • Not necessarily my skinniest
  • Not necessarily my fittest

If I can instill the value into MiniMonkey that it is always ok to be yourself, my hope is that he then does the same for his friends and just a small trickle can become a movement (i know it’s very cheesy but I truly believe it to be so)

Now please don’t get me wrong; of course health and fitness should play a part in everyone’s life but that doesn’t mean surviving on rice cakes and living in the gym. For me right now, for me to be able to Pledge  To Be Real I have to start at the beginning and that is to look in the mirror and see what everyone else sees in me (so they tell me).

  • I am a daughter
  • I am a sister
  • I am a mother
  • I am a human
  • I am important
  • I am loved
  • I Pledge To Be Real

Will you join me?

imag5135-1

I created this post as a competition entry in support of Dove and the Be Real Body Image Pledge.

One thought on “I Pledge To Be Real

Leave a Reply

